TRAVEL

West-bound

img_2088

Poor thing only had about 20 miles on it before us

I can’t believe that it’s been almost three months post-Montana. Elliot and I haven’t slowed down since coming home which is why I am just now getting to write about our trip. During our week in the beautiful Rockies we logged ~50 miles of hiking on our boots and over 1,200 miles on the rental car.

Anyway, I’d like to make it known that this was our first big hiking trip out West so we’re not pros by any means. We are, however, ambitious and wanted to get in as many sights as possible and push ourselves physically. I’m sharing my experiences in hopes that this can be a resource to others who are in the same boat and just want to get out there and experience some gorgeous trails. On a flight back from LA I happened to make friends with a woman and her husband who are experienced hikers (on their way back to the East coast from hiking in Yosemite, coincidentally) and I really appreciated the advice she shared with me from her travels. So here I am paying it forward. Thanks, Andrea!

unnamed

Travel journal I got from “The Toggery” in downtown Whitefish, MT. 

I’ve had a lot of people ask me how we chose Glacier National Park over the other parks. We knew we wanted mountains and my initial thought was to go to Yosemite, but Elliot had heard that it gets very packed with visitors which neither of us wanted to deal with (Andrea also confirmed this, but emphasized how gorgeous of a place it was despite the crowds). After seeing other visitors’ pictures and reading that Glacier was a day hiking paradise, we were sold. Out of all the blogs we read, Jake of Hike 734 stood out as an amazing resource. His maps made trail planning a breeze– check them out.

Our trip dates were 6/22 – 6/29. We chose June mainly because the dates worked job-wise, but we agreed that next time we’d like to go in late summer/early Fall. We got lucky and only had a day and a half of rainy weather, but leading up to the trip I was nervously checking on all the things we wanted to see and whether or not they would be open by the time we got there. The Going to the Sun road finally cleared for the season just six days before we got there! Talk about good timing. That’s one thing you definitely do not want to miss on your trip to Glacier… the beauty of this road is mind boggling/vertigo inducing (more on that later).

unnamed-2From the sights we saw, people we met, the fresh air we breathed, animals we encountered and beers we drank, Big Sky Country far exceeded our expectations and left us with a newfound sense of awe for this country and what beauty lies within its borders. I will share as many helpful things as I can in hopes that you can experience what we did too.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

